State Organizations

State potato grower organizations provide their growers with leadership, information, and support.

Seed certification agencies work to provide services and support research to improve the quality, distribution and productivity of commercial potato plantings.

Alaska

Alaska Plant Material Center
5310 S. Bodenburg Loop Road
Palmer, AK 99634
p: 907.745.8724
contact: Christine Macknicki
e: christine.macknicki@alaska.gov
w: plants.alaska.gov/potato.html

California

Kern Produce Shippers Association
P.O. Box 98
Edison, CA 93220
p: 661.366.5721
contact: Tom Franconi
e: mazzfran@sbcglobal.net

Tulelake Growers Association
P.O. Box 338
356 Main Street
Tulelake, CA 96134
p: 530.667.5214
contact: Iva Rogers
e: tgatopromoteag@cot.net

United Potato Growers of the Klamath Basin
P.O. Box 523
Merrill, OR 97633
p: 541.892.5263
contact: Ed Staunton
e: staunton@cot.net
w: unitedpotatokb.com

Western Growers Association
P.O. Box 2130
Newport Beach, CA 92658-8944
p: 949.885.2263
contact: Matt McInerney
e: mmcinerney@wga.com
w: wga.com

California Crop Improvement Association
University of California, Davis
One Shield Avenue
Davis, CA 95616-8541
p: 530.754.9649
contact: Pablo Guzman
e: pguzman@ucdavis.edu
w: ccia.ucdavis.edu

Colorado

Colorado Potato Administrative Committee Area II
P.O. Box 348
1305 Park Avenue
Monte Vista, CO 81144
p: 719.852.3322
contact: Jim Ehrlich
e: jehrlich@coloradopotato.org
w: coloradopotato.org

Colorado Potato Administrative Committee Area III
P.O. Box 1774
528 7th Street
Greeley, CO 80632
p: 970.352.5231
contact: Brenda Breikler
e: brenda.cpaciii@yahoo.com

United Fresh Potato Growers of Colorado
P.O. Box 269
Monte Vista, CO 81144
p: 719.852.2144
contact: Dwight Freeman
e: unitedpotatoco@qestoffice.net
w: unitedpotatoco.com

Potato Certification Service
San Luis Valley Research
0249 E. Rd. 9 N.
Center, CO 81125
p: 719.754.3496
contact: Kent Sather
e: kent.sather@colostate.edu

Deleware

Delaware Potato Board
Delaware Department of Agriculture
2320 S Dupont Hwy
Dover, DE 19901
p: 302.698.4500
contact: Philip Towle
e: philip.towle@state.de.us

Florida

North Florida Growers Exchange
P.O. Box 655
9380 Hastings Blvd.
Hastings, FL 32145
p: 904.692.5938
contact: Danny Johns
e: danny@bsffl.com

South Florida Potato Growers Exchange
611 N. Wymore Road, Suite 212
Winter Park, FL 32789
p: 407.865.6303
contact: Mike Hevener
e: flspuds@cfl.rr.com

Idaho

Idaho-Eastern Oregon Potato Committee
3670 S. 25th East, Suite 3
Idaho Falls, ID 83404
p: 208.360.9560
contact: Travis Blacker
e: potatocommittee@gmail.com

Idaho Grower Shippers Association
P.O. Box 51100
3670 S. 25th East, Suite 3
Idaho Falls, ID 83404
p: 208.529.4400
contact: Mark Klompien
e: mklompien@idahoshippers.org
w: idahoshippers.org

Idaho Potato Commission
661 S. Rivershore Lane, Suite 230
Eagle, ID 83616
p: 208.334.2350
contact: Pat Kole
e: patrick.kole@potato.idaho.gov
w: idahopotato.com

Idaho Crop Improvement Association
1680 Foote Drive
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
p: 208.522.9198
contact: Doug Boze
e: dboze@idahocrop.com
w: idahocrop.com

Maine

Agricultural Bargaining Council
744 Main Street, Suite 4
Presque Isle, ME 04769
p: 207.764.3380
contact: Dana Wright
e: danac.abc@myfairpoint.net

Maine Potato Board
744 Main Street, Room 1
Presque Isle, ME 04769
p: 207.769.5061
contact: Don Flannery
e: flannery@mainepotatoes.com
w: mainepotatoes.com

Maine Department of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry
28 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
p: 207.287.3891
contact: Robert Batteese
e: robert.batteese@maine.gov
w: maine.gov/dacf/

Michigan

Michigan Potato Industry Commission
3515 West Rd, Suite A
East Lansing, MI 48823
p: (517) 253-7370
contact: Kelly Turner
e: kelly@mipotato.com
w: mipotato.com

Potato Growers of Michigan, Inc.
3515 West Rd, Suite A
East Lansing, MI 48823
p: (517) 253-7370
contact: Kelly Turner
e: kelly@mipotato.com
w: mipotato.com/PotatoGrowersOfMichigan.aspx

Michigan Seed Potato Association
P.O. Box 1865
Gaylord, MI 49734
p: 989.732.4433
contact: Jeff Axford
e: mspa@i2k.com
w: mipotato.com/michiganseedpotatoassociation.aspx

Minnesota

Minnesota Area II Potato Growers Research & Promotion Council
9029 80th Avenue
Clear Lake, MN 55319
p: 320.743.2837
contact: Paul Gray
e: pngray@frontiernet.net
w: minnesotapotato.org

Northern Plains Potato Growers Association
420 Business Hwy. 2
East Grand Forks, MN 56721
p: 218.773.3633
contact: Donovan Johnson
e: djohnson@nppga.org
w: nppga.org

Red River Valley Fresh Potato Growers Cooperative
P.O. Box 301
420 Business Hwy. 2
East Grand Forks, MN 56721
p: 218.773.3633
contact: Ted Kreis
e: tkreis@nppga.org
w: nppga.org

Minnesota Certified Seed Potato Growers Association
Minnesota Dept. of Agriculture – Potato Inspection
312 4th Avenue, NE
East Grand Forks, MN 56721
p: 218.773.4956
f: 218.773.4959
contact: Mike Horken
e: mn.seed@state.mn.us
w: mnseedpotato.org

Montana

Montana Potato Advisory Committee
Rural Development Bureau
Montana Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 200201
Helena, MT 59620-0201
p: 406.444.3571
contact: Lee Boyer
e: lboyer@unt.gov

United Potato Growers of Montana
3990 Churchill Road
Manhattan, MT 59741
p: 406.580.0763
contact: John Venhuizen
e: john@plantthebest.com

Montana Seed Potato Certification Program
MSU-Bozeman
223 Plant Growth Center
P.O. Box 172060
Bozeman, MT 59717-2060
p: 406.994.3150
contact: Nina Zidack
e: nzidack@montana.edu
w: montanaspud.org

Nebraska

Nebraska Potato Council
6541 Jefferson Rd
Alliance, NE 69301
p: 208.221.9475
contact: Adam Winchester
e: info@nebraskapotatoes.com

Potato Certification Association of Nebraska
190 Brayton Rd.
P.O. Box 339
Alliance, NE 69301
p: 308.762.1674
contact: Adam Winchester
e: info@nebraskapotatoes.com

New York

Empire State Potato Growers, Inc.
P.O. Box 636
Varysburg, NY 14167
p: 888.NYS.SPUD
w: empirepotatogrowers.com

New York Seed Improvement Project
Cornell University
240 Emerson Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853
p: 607-423-5974
contact: Phil Atkins
e: pma3@cornell.edu
w: plbrgen.cals.cornell.edu/research-extension/ny-seed-improvement

North Carolina

North Carolina Potato Association
P.O. Box 2066
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
p: 252.331.4773
contact: Tommy Fleetwood
e: tommy.fleetwood@ncagr.gov
w: ncpotatoes.org

North Dakota

Northern Plains Potato Growers Association
420 Business Hwy. 2
East Grand Forks, MN 56721
p: 218.773.3633
contact: Donovan Johnson
e: djohnson@nppga.org
w: nppga.org

Red River Valley Fresh Potato Growers Cooperative
P.O. Box 301
420 Business Hwy. 2
East Grand Forks, MN 56721
p: 218.773.3633
contact: Ted Kreis
e: tkreis@nppga.org
w: nppga.org

North Dakota State Seed Department
State University Station
P.O. Box 5257
Fargo, ND 58105-5257
p: 701.231.5415
contact: Ken Bertsch
e: kbertsch@ndseed.ndsu.edu
w: seed.nd.gov

Oregon

Oregon Potato Commission
9320 SW Barbor Blvd.
Suite 130
Portland, OR 97219
p: 503.239.4763
contact: Gary Roth
e: gary@oregonspuds.com
w: oregonspuds.com

Also See:
California-United Potato Growers of the Klamath Basin
Idaho-Idaho-Eastern Oregon Potato Committee
Washington-United Fresh Potato Growers of Washington and Oregon

Oregon Seed Certification Service
Oregon State University
031 Crop Science Building
Corvallis, OR 97331-3003
p: 541.737.4513
f: 541.737.2624
contact: Jeffrey McMorran
e: jeff.mcmorran@oregonstate.edu
w: seedcert.oregonstate.edu/potatoes

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Cooperative Potato Growers, Inc.
3107 N. Front Street
Suite 100
Harrisburg, PA 17110-1328
p: 717.232.5300
contact: Nathan Tallman
e: ntallman@pacooppotatoes.com
w: pacooppotatoes.com

Texas

United Southwest Potato Growers of America
1100 E. 6600 S. Suite 305
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
p: 801.266.5050
contact: Buzz Shahan
e: buzz@unitedpotatousa.com
w: unitedpotatousa.com

Utah

Utah Crop Improvement Association
4855 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-4855
p: 435.797.2082
contact: Stanford Young
e: sayoung@mendel.usu.edu
w: utahcrop.org

Virginia

Association of Virginia Potato and Vegetable Growers, Inc.
P.O. Box 26
Onley, VA 23418
p: 757.787.5867
contact: Butch Nottingham
e: butch.nottingham@vdacs.virginia.gov
w: vdacs.virginia.gov

Washington

Potato Growers of Washington
P.O. Box 563
Othello, WA 99344
p: 509.488.6688
contact: Dale Lathim
e: dale@pgw.net

United Fresh Potato Growers of Washington and Oregon
1530 Catalpa
Othello, WA 99344
p: 509.488.0369
contact: Dave Long
e: longdavew@smwireless.net

Washington State Potato Commission
108 Interlake Road
Moses Lake, WA 98837
p: 509.765.8845
contact: Chris Voigt
e: wspc@potatoes.com
w: potatoes.com

Washington State Department of Agriculture
Plant Protection Division
P.O. Box 42560
Olympia, WA 98504-2560
p: 360.902.1984
contact: Tom Wessels
e: twessels@agr.wa.gov
w: agr.wa.gov

Wisconsin

United Potato Growers Cooperative of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 327
Antigo, WI 54409
p: 715.342.9809
contact: Chris Malek
e: drady0409@gmail.com

Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association
P.O. Box 327
Antigo, WI 54409
p: 715.623.7683
contact: Tamas Houlihan
e: thoulihan@wisconsinpotatoes.com
w: wisconsinpotatoes.com

Wisconsin Seed Potato Program
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Department of Plant Pathology
807 Fifth Ave. P.O. Box 328
Antigo WI 54409
p: 715.623.4039
contact: Alex Crockford
e: abcrockford@wisc.edu
w: seedpotato.russell.wisc.edu

Wyoming

University of Wyoming
Department of Plant Sciences
Dept. 3354
1000 E University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
p: 307.766.3103
e: plantsciences@uwyo.edu
w: uwyo.edu/plantsciences